Why anime is great to watch

Ever since I first saw Pokémon back in 1997, I was immediately hooked.

The vibrant colours, the powerful creatures and the character’s and their adventures were just some of the reasons why I loved the programme.

However, I could not really appreciate the full meaning behind some of the episodes until I grew with a respect and appreciation for nature and the environment.

This love of Pokémon must have had an impact on my life as my desire to expand my knowledge of anime grew and grew as I did.

Watching Studio Ghibli films such as Spirited Away, Princess Mononoke and Howl’s Moving Castle, I now am an avid anime fan.

Their concerns with nature and the balance of the world is something that everyone could appreciate and value.

As someone who is concerned with these issues, I would highly recommend watching some Anime. They will really show you how people impact on the world, for good and bad.

It is not just Studio Ghibli films that should be watched but even America caught on to the concerns of the environment in series such as Avatar: The Last Airbender and it will have you hooked from start to finish.

It is obvious that some people believe anime to be targeted towards children and yes, I agree that as a cartoon adults would not want to sit and watch them.

But they deal with more issues than an average cartoon. Children are oblivious to the impacts that people have on the environment and I truly believe that anime is actually targeted towards the more mature who can appreciate the themes.

The bright colouring and the creatures within all anime series and films are what attract children to them. But if you strip them to the bare minimum, deeper underlining meanings begin to emerge.

Everyone should watch some anime at some point. Whether it’s for the colours, the storyline, and the creatures or just to watch a film, these are full of meanings that only those with a love and desire to protect the environment would truly be moved by.

3 thoughts on “Why anime is great to watch

  1. I love watching anime! By the way, Avatar is not anime, it was made in America. Although they copied anime style.

    1. Thank you for pointing that mistake out. I had changed it in my first draft but must have published the wrong one. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

