‘We regret to inform you that you have not been successful for this job vacancy’

These words are becoming all too regular in my day-to-day life and it is these words that have caused me, on many occasions, to really think about my potential career choice.

I have been writing for a long time and have always enjoyed it and, please correct me if I am wrong, but I am not bad at it.

Therefore, constantly reading these words is slightly degrading to someone who has aspirations as I do.

People keep telling me ‘it will come’ and ‘there will be other jobs’ and despite as much as I agree with them it is becoming tougher and tougher to get up the nerve to apply for more jobs.

I am currently doing so and it is tedious writing cover letters after cover letters but I am doing it and I know that one day, eventually, I will be a working writer.

The one thing that bothers me more is when a potential job states ‘unfortunately due to the high number of applications, we are unable to give feedback’… This should be mandatory by law.

How can someone improve their cover letter, CV and develop their skills if no one tells them how they could have been better suited for the position?

I apply for jobs that I am qualified for. Nothing that I cannot possibly produce good work but I feel that, especially in this current climate and the current government, there should be a push for more feedback on applications.

In addition, I am someone who works better under pressure and I find that I produce work better when I have been given a chance to write. Even my local newspaper are not letting people go in for work experience.

It does not make sense in my eyes. The government seem to be pushing for internships which are all well and good if you have the money to live in London on the minimum wage but there are some people who cannot afford this.

People need to give others more of a chance to prove that they are the right candidate.

I have also had experiences where jobs will not hire someone who doesn’t live in the area. I understand that it must be difficult for a publication to wait one week for a person to know the area but why then advertise the job on a national scale?

By doing so, people will apply only to be rejected.

If you want someone who knows the area, narrow down your search and only ask for people who can work in that specific place.

There is nothing more down-hearting when you know you can be great at a job and all you get are those words that just don’t mean anything.

What is worse, is when publications just don’t reply at all. That is just plain rude! I would prefer the generic lines than nothing at all.

Rudeness is vile and there is no call for it.

This is just a little rant about the ridiculous society that expects a fully trained, needing no advice or help candidate who will fit into the role without a second hesitation. But what about those who bring character to a role?

We get left behind.

Leave a Reply

